LPL - Lanka Premier League

  • Home
  • LPL - Lanka Premier League

The Sri Lanka Premier League was a franchise T20 cricket tournament played in Sri Lanka.
The league was born in 2011 after the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced the details regarding the league. But the 2011 season of the league was cancelled. 12 Indian players were scheduled to play in the league in that season but BCCI denied them the no-objection certificate.
The tournament was organized in 2012 and Nagenahira Nagas was the inaugural champion of the league.
The next two seasons of the league in 2013 and 2014 were cancelled due to various issues.
The tournament was replaced by Super 4’s T20 tournament in 2014.
In 2018, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) again founded a new franchise Twenty20 cricket tournament. The tournament was named Lanka Premier League (LPL). The tournament was postponed for the first two years. The SLC managed to organize the tournament in 2020. The Lankan Premier League 2020 was played at the Sooriyawewa Stadium in Hambantota.
LPL Sri Lanka 2021 will start on 27 July 2021. We’ll run fantasy cricket contests when the tournament starts. Do bookmark this page so that you can easily access this website when the tournament starts.

Lanka Premier League 2020 Teams

A total of five teams were selected to represent five cities of the country. Colombo, Dambulla, Galle, Jaffna, and Kandy are these five cities.
Following is a list of Sri Lanka Premier League teams fromlast year:

  • Colombo Kings – owned by Murfad Mustafa of the Faza Group
  • Dambulla Viiking – owned by Sachin J Joshi of Viiking Ventures
  • Galle Gladiators – owned by Nadeem Omar of Omar Associates
  • Jaffna Stallions – owned by Anandan Arnold and Rahul Sood
  • Kandy Tuskers – owned by Sohail Khan International LLP and Abbas Muni

Lankan Premier League Players

All the teams had an Icon player associated with it. Angelo Matthews was the icon player of the Colombo Kings, Dasun Shanaka was the icon player of Dambulla Gladiators, Shahid Afridi replaced Lasith Malinga as the icon player of Galle Gladiators, Thisara Perera was the icon player of Jaffna Stallions, and Kusal Perera was the icon player of Kandy Tuskers.
All the teams had one foreign marquee player as well. Andre Russell was the marquee player for Colombo Kings, David Miller was the marquee player for Dambulla Viiking, Shahid Afridi was the marquee player for the Galle Gladiators, Dawid Malan was the marquee player for Jaffna Stallions, and Chris Gayle was the marquee player for Kandy Tuskers.
David Miller, Dawid Malan, and Chris Gayle pulled out of the league.
A total of 11 overseas players signed up for the league, including five Indian players. Manpreet Gony, Manvinder Bisla, Sudeep Tyagi, Munaf Patel, and Irfan Pathan were these Indian players.
Manvinder Bisla was also one of the few players who did not feature in the league.

Sri Lanka Premier League 2020 Schedule

Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers played the first game in the LPL schedule of 2020. Colombo Kings won the toss and elected to field.
Kandy Tuskers made 219 runs in 20 overs. Rahmanullah Gurbaz made 53 off 22 balls and Kusal Perera made 87 off 52 deliveries.
Dinesh Chandimal made 80 runs off 46 balls for Colombo Kings. Colombo Kings made exactly 219 runs in 20 overs and the match was tied.
Colombo Kings made 16 runs in the super over. In reply, Kandy Tuskers was able to make only 12 runs in the super over and lost the game.
All the teams played two games against each other which made it eight games per team.
Colombo Kings won six out of the eight games.
Kandy Tuskers won just two games and ended at the bottom of the table.
Colombo Kings and Galle Gladiators played the first semi-final of the league that was won by Galle Gladiators.
Dambulla Viiking and Jaffna Stallions played the second semi-final and Jaffna Stallions won the game.
Galle Gladiators and Jaffa Stallions played the final of the league. Jaffna Stallions was the winner of the league. Danushka Gunathilaka made the most amount of runs in the LPL 2020 season. He made 476 runs in 10 games with an average of 59.5 and a strike rate of 144.68. His average is the most among players who made 100 runs. Gunathilaka made four half-centuries that were the most in the league.
Laurie Evans of Jaffna Stallions was the only player who made a century in the tournament. He made 108 runs off 65 balls in a game against Jaffna Stallions. He was also the second-highest run-getter of the tournament. Overall, he made 289 runs in 8 games with an average of 57.8 and a strike rate of 170.
Thisara Perera made 261 runs in 10 games with an average of 43.5 and a strike rate of 223.08. His strike rate was the highest among players who made more than 100 runs.
Wanindu Hasaranga took 17 wickets in 10 games with an average of 11.29, an economy of 5.19, and a strike rate of 13.06.
Mohammad Amir was the only bowler who took a five-wicket haul.

Lanka Premier League 2020 Points Table

Colombo Kings8620012
Dambulla Viiking8520111
Jaffna Staltdons843019
Galle Gladiators826004
Kandy Tuskers826004

Lanka Premier League 2020 Live

LPL live broadcast was available in 21 countries of the world. PTV, Sky Sports, and Sony Pictures Networks won the right to broadcast the last season of the league.
Independent Television Network (ITN) along with Sony Pictures Networks was the official broadcasters in Sri Lanka.
The fantasy power 11 is a new fantasy app and we provide huge number of rewards in each contest run by us.