Who is the IPL Best Captain?


Winning an IPL title is one of the most difficult things a captain can do. Their first goal is to ensure that their team finishes in the top two, giving them two opportunities to qualify for the final. In a world-class competition like the IPL, the pressure on the final is so intense that players are willing to forego international duty. Few cricketers have held the position of captain for an extended period of time due to their constant performance but who amongst the all can be considered as IPL best captain.

Since its beginning in 2008, the IPL has seen a slew of inspirational leaders lead their teams to victory. Some captains were calm, while others were aggressive; some won, while others are still vying for the coveted IPL championship.

MS Dhoni, the former India captain, is obviously at the top of the list when it comes to effectively guiding a franchise. His nearly ten years as captain of Team India have served him well in the IPL, and he has been the only full-time leader of Chennai Super Kings since 2008.

Dhoni is also the IPL captain with the most victories. But who is next on the list after Dhoni? Is it Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma, India's captain? Or a different captain? The most successful captains in IPL history are shown below:

MS Dhoni – Chennai Super Kings

There isn't a successful captain on the list that this man won't join. Captain cool has a soothing impact on his teammates, and it is no surprise that he's the most successful captain in the IPL. MS Dhoni, often known as "Thala “, in the south, has the most wins as a captain in the IPL, with 99 victories. With the finest cricketing brain in the world, it's no surprise that he's led Chennai Super Kings to three IPL titles. When it comes to the most victories as a captain, MS Dhoni is the best captain in IPL. The MSD-led Chennai team has made the playoffs practically every season, in addition to winning the IPL championship three times. MSD has a winning rate of 61.88 percent. He has led CSK in 174 matches, making him the captain with the most captaincy caps. Under Dhoni's leadership, the Yellow Army had 105 victories and 68 losses.

Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma appears to be a well-balanced captain with three IPL titles to his credit. He is just behind MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir in terms of most IPL victories as captain. He is one of the most successful captains in the IPL because of his ability to analyze the game and think one step ahead of the opponents. Rohit Sharma has guided Mumbai Indians to five IPL Championships, making him the most successful captain in terms of title wins. Only under his leadership did MI win their first IPL title in 2013, and the MI juggernaut hasn't slowed down since. With a winning percentage of 60.34, he has guided the club to victory in 70 of them, in 116 IPL games. In the winning seasons of 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020, and 2021, Rohit was a successful Mumbai captain.

Gautam Gambhir – Kolkata Knight Riders

Gautam Gambhir, an aggressive captain on the field, has played a key role in the Kolkata Knight Riders' success. Gambhir transformed the fortunes of KKR after joining the team as captain and has helped the team win the IPL championship twice. Gambhir is without a doubt one of the most successful leaders in the IPL, and he has always led from the front when his team needed him to. He, a two-time IPL champion captain, led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) from 2011 to 2017. KKR won the IPL Championships in 2012 and 2014 under Gambhir's leadership. In 129 games, the former India opener led KKR to 61 victories and 46 losses. Gambhir also served as the captain of the Delhi Capitals.

Virat Kohli – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli, the full-time captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore since 2013, is next with 55 victories and 63 losses. RCB has been an underperforming team since 2013 and has failed to win their first IPL trophy. In eight seasons, they have been in one final and qualified for the second round twice. Virat Kohli may not have an IPL championship to his name, but he has led his team with aggressiveness. He has always taken the initiative and would be hoping that RCB raises the level and wins the coveted IPL championship. This year, they have a somewhat refurbished roster, and the management will be hoping that RCB will finally win the IPL. Other teams who have competed in the IPL since 2008 but have yet to win the championship include Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings.

The captain is the one person who gets evaluated the most when the team loses. Captaincy is one of the most difficult jobs in cricket, especially in the IPL. It necessitates mental toughness, the ability to unite the squad on and off the field, tactical awareness, and, of course, calmness in tense situations. So, pick out one best captain in cricket is not fair.

Fantasy Power 11 is an Indian fantasy games app that gives you the chance to create your own IPL fantasy squad and compete in various events. During this season of the IPL, you may win fantastic cash rewards. In addition, the Fantasy Power11 app offers the finest user experience and the quickest withdrawals. Start your IPL fantasy cricket journey with the Fantasy Power11 App!