Big Bash League

  • Home
  • Big Bash League

The Big Bash League is the Australian domestic franchise league T20 tournament. The tournament started in 2011 and is organized by Cricket Australia.
KFC, the American fast-food restaurant chain is the primary sponsor of the Big Bash League. The Leagues is often called KFC BBL.
Just like the Indian Premier League, the Big Bash League also has a total of eight teams. All these teams represent six Australian cities of Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney.
Two teams are representing the cities of Melbourne and Sydney.
Sydney Sixers was the winner of the first Big Bash League that was organized in 2011. Sydney Sixers defeated Perth Scorchers in the final of the league. The final game was played at the WACA Ground.
Sydney Sixers also won the 2019 and the 2020 edition of the league. In 2020, Sydney Sixers again defeated Perth Scorchers in the final. Every year the BBL matches are played in November, December and January.
This year’s tournament is scheduled to take place in these months only. We host a lot of contests during the BBL on our mobile application. We also host several articles explaining how to play fantasy cricket.

Big Bash League 2020 Teams

As mentioned in the above section, the Big Bash League consists of eight teams. These teams represent six Australian cities.
Following is a list of eight teams that feature in the Big Bash League:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunders

Adelaide Strikers
Adelaide Strikers is a team in the BBL cricket tournament that represents the city of Adelaide. Adelaide Oval is the home ground of the team. As of 2020, the coach of the team is Jason Gillespie and the captain is Alex Carey. Adelaide Strikers won the 2017 edition of the season.
Brisbane Heat
Brisbane Heat represents the city of Brisbane. Brisbane Cricket Ground is the home ground of the team. Darren Lehmann is the coach and Chris Lynn is the captain of the team. Brisbane Heat won the 2012 edition of the league.
Hobart Hurricanes
Hobart Hurricanes represents the city of Hobart in the BBL. Blundstone Arena is the home ground of the team. Adam Griffith is the coach of the team and Matthew Wade is the captain of the team.
Hobart Hurricanes have not been able to win the tournament yet.
Melbourne Renegades
Melbourne Renegades is the winner of the 2018 season. Melbourne Renegades represents Melbourne city and Marvel Stadium is the home stadium of the team. The team is coached by Michael Klinger and captained by Aaron Finch.
Melbourne Stars
Melbourne Stars is another team from the city of Melbourne. Melbourne Cricket Ground is the home ground of the team. David Hussey is the coach of the team and Glenn Maxwell is the captain of the team. Melbourne Stars has not won a season of the BBL.
Perth Scorchers
Perth Scorchers is the team that represents the city of Perth. Perth Stadium is the home ground of the team. Adam Voges is the coach of the team and Ashton Turner is the current captain of the team.
Perth Scorchers has won the league thrice in 2013, 2014, and 2016.
Sydney Sixers
Sydney Sixers is another team that has won the tournament thrice. It won the BBL in 2011, 2019, and 2020. Sydney Cricket Ground is the home ground of the team.
Greg Shipperd is the coach of the team and Moises Henriques is the captain of the team.
Sydney Thunder
Sydney Thunder is the 2015 winner of the tournament. Sydney Thunder is also a team that represents the city of Sydney.
Manuka Oval is the home ground of the team. Shane Bond is the coach of the team and Callum Ferguson is the captain of the team.

Big Bash League 2020 Schedule

BBL 2020 started on 10 December 2020. The first BBL match of the season was played between Hobart Hurricane and Sydney Sixers. Hobart Hurricanes won the game by 16 runs.
All eight teams played two games against each opponent. Each team played a total of 14 matches during the league stage.
Sydney Sixers won nine out of the 14 games and were the table-topper. Perth Scorchers won eight games. Sydney Thunder won eight games. Brisbane Heat won seven games. Two other teams also won seven games.
But Brisbane Heat had a higher net run-rate and hence qualified to the semi-finals.
Melbourne Renegades won only four games.
As per the BBL schedule of 2020, a total of 61 T20 games were played.
BBL final 2020 was played between Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers. Sydney Sixers won the game. BBL 2019 was also won by Sydney Sixers.

BBL Points Table

Sydney Sixers1495036
Perth Scorchers1485132
Sydney Thunder1486031
Brisbane Heat1477029
Adelaide Strikers1477028
Hobart Hurricanes1477028
Melbourne Stars1458124
Melbourne Renegades14410016

BBL live streaming

Sony LIV got the rights for live streaming of the BBL 2020 live in India. The BBL live score along with extras was also available on the Sony LIV mobile application.
The Fantasy Power 11 is the home to various fantasy cricket contests. Do visit our website to learn more details.